Dialogue on Public Libraries

In the Estonian Human Development Report, social scientists identify the lack of a mature deliberative space as one of the foremost challenges confronting the information society, indicating a pressing need to promote local dialogue and enhance citizens’ discussion skills. In pursuit of this aim, the Estonian Cooperation Assembly launched Local Dialogue in the Local Library, a collaborative pilot project with the 2022 Year of Libraries initiative and the Estonian Librarians’ Association.

A total of 12 librarians completed the training programme, which ran from February to September 2022. In spring 2023, a second group completed dialogue training with the Estonian Cooperation Assembly. This programme was commissioned by the Estonian Librarians’ Association and focused specifically on dialogue planning. The pilot project launched in 2022 also planted the seed that has now evolved into Community Dialogue, a practical development programme primarily targeted at local government leaders.

Participants in Programme I (pilot project), 2022

  • Monika Jõemaa, Põhja Pärnumaa Library, Pärnumaa county
  • Annely Veevo, Kärdla City Library, Hiiumaa county
  • Jaanika Tappo, Tallinn Central Library, Harjumaa county
  • Aira Jõõts, Raasiku Library, Harjumaa county
  • Janne Tenson, Läänemaa County Central Library, Haapsalu
  • Veronika Raudsepp Linnupuu, Viljandi City Library, Viljandimaa county
  • Astrid Karpender, Türi Library, Järvamaa county
  • Tiia Linnard, Jõhvi Central Library, Ida-Virumaa county
  • Triinu Rätsepp, Valga Central Library, Valgamaa county
  • Lea Rand, Toila Library, Ida-Virumaa county
  • Mairi Tempel, Tartu City Library, Tartumaa county
  • Silvi Lukjanov, Kehtna Raamatukogu,  Raplamaa


Participants in Programme II, 2023

  • Aili Anderson, Tarvastu Library
  • Ene Michelis, Tori Library
  • Karmen Velitschinsky, Järva Library
  • Kati Maidla, Põlva Central Library
  • Leelo Ainsoo, Tallinn Central Library
  • Liisi Ploomipuu, Kohila Library
  • Marge Päästel, Tõstamaa Branch of Pärnu Central Library
  • Piret Terve, Teedla Branch of Rõngu Library, Tartumaa county
  • Raina Kruus, Kose-Uuemõisa Library
  • Tiia Pärnik-Pernik, Tsirguliina Library
  • Viive Vink, Rannu Library

More information:
Kairi Tilga
Head of the Estonian Cooperation Assembly